skip to Main Content
Legislative Committee

The CalChiefs Legislative Committee reviews all California legislation that is introduced either in the Senate or Assembly. CalChiefs and joined with the Fire District Association of California (FDAC) and created a joint Legislative Committee to better address legislative needs. Regular full meetings of the committee are held to discuss recommended positions on each bill. Positions taken are “Support”, “Oppose” or “Watch”. Once concensus is reached on each bill, the positions are then presented to the eBoard for final approval. As bills are constantly amended and CalChiefs is contacted for support on bills, these specific bills are then sent via email to the committee members for feedback and possible modification of the previously adopted position.

Mark A. Hartwig – CalChiefs (Chair)
San Bernardino County Fire Department
Ph: (909) 387-5952

Ray Ramirez – CalChiefs (Voting)
Ontario Fire Department
(909) 395-2002

George Apple – CalChiefs (Voting)
Cosumnes Fire Department
(916) 405-7100

Charles Berdan – CalChiefs (Voting)
Alameda Co. Regional Comm. Ctr. (retired)
(916) 756-7059

Paul Matheis – CalChiefs (Voting)
Newport Beach Fire Department (ret.)
(949) 505-3122

Randy Metz – CalChiefs (Alternate)
Carlsbad Fire Department
(760) 602-4661

Ted Peterson – CalChiefs (Alternate)
Novato Fire Department
(415) 878-2690

Tracey Hansen, CalChiefs – President
Consumnes Fire Department
(916) 405-7100

Eric Dutton – CalChiefs – Executive Director
(916) 923-9455

Ralph Heim – Legislative Advocate
Public Policy Advocates
(916) 441-0702

Richard Pearce – FDAC (Vice Chair)
Tiburon Fire Department
(415) 435-7200

Jeffrey Willis – FDAC (Voting)
Big Bear Fire Department
(909) 866-7566

Steven Hall – FDAC (Voting)
Central FPD of Santa Cruz Fire Department
(831) 479-6842

Mark Mills – FDAC (Voting)
Ross Valley Fire Department
(415) 258-4686

Rusty Dupray – FDAC (Voting)
Sacramento Metro Fire Department (ret.)
(916) xxx-xxxx

Jeff Maxwell – FDAC (Alternate)
Central FPD of Santa Cruz Fire Department
(831) 479-6842

Micki Rucker – FDAC (Alternate)
Mi-Wuk Sugarpine Fire Department
(xxx) xxx-xxxx

Catherine Smith, FDAC Executive Director
Fire Districts Association of California
(800) 829-4309

Russ Noack – Legislative Advocate
Public Policy Advocates
(916) 441-0702